Cycling Club

Blog Post

Wrekinsport CC News

22 Apr 2018 21:00 | Anonymous member (Administrator)

Wrekinsport CC Club 10 No.1 2018

Wrekinsport's Evening 10 Series opened with a Course Best for Dan Watts with the RAF CA rider beating the 22 minute mark for the first time. Watts had determination in his eyes as he finished visibly faster than any other rider with a tremendous surge for the line, stopping the watch on 21 minutes 55 seconds. Whilst exhausted afterwards Watts was clearly elated after his ride, coping best with a vicious southerly wind that hampered progress on the three mile stretch from Cotwall Bank to Shawbirch.


After finishing runner-up in both of the early season 5 mile time trials Chris Halford was in familiar territory again as he took second spot, the best of the promoting club's riders. Halford is clearly in form, posting a fine 22:44 to push out a pair of riders who couldn't be separated for third - Jason Harland and Alex Leek, with both finished in 23:30. Halford takes an early lead in the Evening 10 Series and will definitely be one to watch, with 2017 Series winner Mark Griffiths back in 6th on 24:16.


The popular Non-Aero Series also commenced, and with riders not requiring a dedicated time trial bike this is designed with newer riders in mind. Taking the early lead was Tomos Hales, recording a good effort of 27:07, with two of those newer riders amongst a chasing three split by just 5 seconds. Peter Mulloy registered a fine 29:31 in his first time trial for the runner-up spot, with Steve Mold who tested in both 5's ending the evening on 29:36 for 4th. Sandwiched in between was club chairman Dave Moore who seems to enjoy making things difficult for himself, riding to 3rd a second in front of Mold - on a mountain bike.

  • Round 2 takes place this Wednesday with the more usual start time of 7pm. Sign on at The Woolpack, Shawbirch. All levels of experience welcomed.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software