Cycling Club

Blog Post

Club 10 No.15 - report

27 Aug 2018 18:24 | Anonymous member (Administrator)

Wrekinsport Evening 10 No.15 2018

Chris Halford made it a clean sweep to wrap up Wrekinsport's Evening 10 Series with yet another win in Round 15. Halford has won all 14 rounds he has entered, only missing out on a perfect 90 point score due to missing a round having entered a competing event. Halford has been a model of consistency throughout the season, finishing four seconds up on his Round 14 time in an impressive 22 minutes 2 seconds.

Wrekinsport's fast man beat Alex Leek into the runner-up spot by 40 seconds, showing the quality of his ride - though attention was on third-placed Mark Griffiths, ending his evening on 24:16 and elevating himself five points above Tomos Hales to take Series Bronze, which was still in play pre-race.

That wasn't the only medal on offer however with Richard Howes taking the Non-aero Series Bronze at the last gasp. Howes has been a late entrant to this Series, riding just the final three rounds but taking the maximum six points on offer in each event. His 26:06 effort pushed out Non-aero Gold medallist Ian Bond by seven seconds and was only bettered by an excellent ride from Paramount CRT's Sean Evans, finishing a strong 4th in 24:26.

It was an encouraging night for three young riders despite heavy rain which blighted the event, with an under-the-weather Henri Bedford still taking the win in 26:42. Meanwhile Mid Shropshire Wheelers' 12 year-old Charlie Price was delighted to beat the magical 20mph barrier by one second, stopping the watch for a course best 29:59, whilst Wrekinsport's Henry Fleming also posted a personal best 33:24.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software