Cycling Club

Blog Post

Club 10 N0.14 - report

18 Aug 2018 22:49 | Anonymous member (Administrator)

Wrekinsport Evening 10 No.14 2018

Chris Halford looks set to make it a clean sweep whilst Rich Smith captured Silver in Round 14 of Wrekinsport's Evening 10 Series. Riders endured a strong westerly wind and rain that commenced just as the event got underway and affecting early starters including Halford. But that didn't stop him fighting his way through the teeth of the wind blighting the climb of Cotwall Bank as he scored yet another maximum six points, just as he has done in every round he has entered, stopping the watch on 22 minutes 6 seconds.

The quality of Halford's ride was evident by his winning margin, 1:37, with Smith completing the course in 23:43, 5 seconds ahead of newly-signed Rob Jackson. This did enough to win Series Silver, with Smith scoring consistently throughout the Series.

There was a strong ride from Paramount CRT's Sean Evans, another rider receiving a liberal soaking. Evans rode to victory in the non-aero category in a fantastic 24:01, 1:40 ahead of Ian Watts, making a rare appearance in a time trial. But there was a surprise for newly-crowned Non-aero Champion Ian Bond as he lost out by a solitary second to Richard Howes, riding just his second event of the year. Howes clocked a fine 26:26 and could potentially take Bronze in the final event thanks to his late charge.  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software